Elche has not won at Heliodoro Rodríguez López since 1988

first_imgThe first duel between both teams is also well remembered by the Elche fans. That April 14, 1959, the visitors won by 0-3 (so many from Nito, Cardona and Pauet) and consummated their first ascent to the highest category with the Tenerife goalkeeper Isidro Acosta in his squad. On the next visit, Elche won again (1-3) until finally, the insular ones triumphed thanks to Manolo Medina, in May of 1972 (1-0).In more recent times, some of the clashes left situations to remember. For example, in the clash of June 2006 there was the premiere of the youth player Tomi Correa, in December of that same year, Casuco debuted as coach of Tenerife and in the game played in October 2010, for the tenth day, the insulars won with Natalio’s goal their first game of the sad campaign that led the club to Second B. Elche’s visits to Heliodoro have two eyes: one of them discovers that the ilicitanos have not won on the Island since 1988. The other reflects that, Nonetheless, The Verdiblanco team has scored in half of its visits. Both are true and it is in each one to see the glass half full or half empty. Total, they have met 20 times in the Rodriguez Lopez with a balance of ten victories of Tenerife, five draws and five joys visitors.That last joy of Elche dates from February 21, 1988 (This Friday will be 32 years old). The pupils of former blue and white Felipe Mesones confirmed their position as leaders of the category by scoring 1-4 thanks to three goals from Sixto and one from Claudio Barragán. Chema Noriega had done the same for Tenerife that ended with ten for the expulsion of Chalo. At the end of that campaign, the ilicitanos ascended to First Division.The last time the faces were seen was in January 2019 and on that occasion, the Blue and Whites defeated thanks to Filip Malbasic and Jorge Sáenz the afternoon in which a deserved tribute was paid to Nino who returned to Heliodoro.last_img read more